Shorebreak – Around

wuytvam0

Although Shorebreak released their Severance EP earlier this year, it feels like it’s been ages since we’ve heard anything new from the Long Island natives. After falling in love with their Displacement EP back in 2013, I was disappointed to find their follow-up felt more like a filler project than an official release. I come to you with good news, however. Not only is the Pop Punk quintet gearing up for their second release of 2015 with Misdirection–dropping December 18th–but the EP’s first single, “Around,” is excellent.

When I originally reviewed Displacement last year, I made the comment that the band does little to stand out from the crowd, but I think I may have spoken too soon. Because there is something very specific about Shorebreak’s sound that makes me gravitate towards them when a lot of their contemporaries tend to push me away. If I’m being completely honest, I think a lot of it has to do with Mike Scarola’s vocals. They are comfortable and welcoming, which made it difficult for me to hold back a smile when I pressed play for the first time. I’m suddenly really excited for a project I didn’t even know was coming, and after listening to “Around,” I’m sure you will be too.

One thought on “Shorebreak – Around

  1. Pingback: Shorebreak – Misdirection (New Release) | The Musings of a Recluse

Leave a Reply

