Budo – An Elderly Woman Named Jeff

Okay, where was I last week that this completely passed me by?* Fresh off of his Roger Lion release with Joe Pernice–an album I have yet to spend a considerable amount of time with–Budo drops this bombshell of a single, “An Elderly Woman Named Jeff.” With a haunting vocal sample, Budo’s signature horns, and some great percussion, the production on this song is so thick and mesmerizing, it is easy to get lost in it as you are taken on an incredible musical journey. Nothing has been said on what this song means for Budo’s future, but considering my complete adoration of The Finger & The Moon, I really hope it’s another solo record.

*You want the truth? I was working and doing homework. That’s where I was last week.

Leave a Reply

