IG88 – “Hiding In My Hands”

artworks-000148648675-uwrap7-t500x500.jpg

For me, the 27th seems like it’s taking its sweet little time getting here, but with just over 24 hours left to go, IG88 decided to leak the title song off of his new album, Hiding In My Hands. Despite still being relatively unknown, this album is the first major release of 2016 I am completely and utterly excited for. So when I saw a message from IG88 saying he had leaked a new tune, I was thrilled. Now I was already pumped for the new record, but like you, I also have no idea what the tracklist looks like, which means there’s no way to know if any of the tracks he’s released in the past year or so have any relevance when hypothesizing the sound of this new album.

And let me tell you, as someone who has listened to both A Loom & Not Me and Breathing Suit too many times to count, the song we were given tonight is incredibly compelling. Although this is mere speculation, it sounds like it could possibly act as the album’s opening number. The way the song is structured is unlike anything IG88 has released thus far. His first two album’s were both dream-like in their beauty, whereas the beginning of this song starts as something fit for an espionage thriller. It’s unrelentingly dark and heavy, and right when you think you have a grasp on what the song is, it switches up on you.

If this man’s goal was to increase my tremendous excitement for his new album, he succeeded. You can listen to “Hiding In My Hands” below, and if you like what you hear, check back in a few days for the album’s release.

Leave a Reply

