Better Off is… Kid Holiday?

1174352554_largethumb

Late last week, I saw this bright yellow and orange avatar appear on my Twitter timeline. “Who the hell is this?” I asked myself. The answer is usually I accidentally followed someone while tapping away on my phone, but not this time. Because after entering my “following” list, this incredibly bright avatar–whose handle is @kidholidaymusic–was 11th on the list, which sorts users by most recently followed. Alright, whatever. That’s weird, but I was at work, so I didn’t have the energy or desire to look into it, and promptly forgot about it until I once again saw the avatar in my list last night.

The answer, it appears, is bittersweet. After some allegations toward their fill-in bassist earlier this year, Better Off dropped out of their tour with Mayday Parade, and it appears the group has decided to move forward with a different project. Without vocalist Luke Granered, the remaining members of Better Off have started Kid Holiday with Max Palmer and John Michael McCasland, and to those holding out hope for another Better Off record down the road, well, don’t get your hopes up. Here’s what the band had to say on Facebook:

“Kid Holiday is a rock band from Nashville, Tennessee. Three long time friends and bandmates departed from a previous musical outfit, and identified a strong urge to continue writing and recording music.”

Anyone who listened to the band knows this is a hard pill to swallow. Their last album Milk, which was released in September of 2015, was incredible, and showed the musical diversity and eagerness of a group destined for great things. But all good things must come to an end, and in the ashes of Better Off rose Kid Holiday, who released their debut EP Burnt Out this past Friday. This is definitely a different sound stylistically, and as of now the quintet wears their influences heavily on their sleeves, but you have my attention, gentlemen. I’ve been told the third time’s a charm.

You can stream Burnt Out on YouTube below, as well as Spotify and Apple Music.

Leave a Reply

